English عربی کوردی
About the Kurdistan Region

The Kurdistan Region is an autonomous region in federal Iraq. It borders Syria to the west, Iran to the east, and Turkey to the north, where fertile plains meet the Zagros mountains, and is traversed by the Tigris, Big Zab, and Little Zab rivers. 

Area: 40,643 square kilometres 

Population: 5,200,000 

Capital city: Erbil (also known locally as Hewler) 

Languages: mainly Kurdish; Turkmani, Arabic, Armenian, and Assyrian in some areas. 

Currency: Iraqi Dinar (IQD). 

For more information about the Kurdistan Region’s people, history, geography, language, economy and about travelling to Kurdistan, please see the main Kurdistan Regional Government website, www.krg.org